cropped-img_20150706_162120.jpg

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.”  Proverbs 22:6

This is a new blog I have decided to write telling about my homeschool adventures and journaling my thoughts about what works for us and what does not.  I am also going to include what God is showing me through my own personal prayer and devotion, and share some ideas about my organizing and meal planning.

This is my first full year doing traditional homeschool with my youngest son.  After much prayer and educating myself on state laws, I decided to take the plunge and stop cyber-schooling.  I knew in my heart that God wanted me to do this.  Cyber-school works great for a lot of children, but my son needed the one on one that only I could give him.  Besides, I knew that God was calling me to this journey, and He would equip me with the strength to get the job done.

As I was trying to decide what style of homeschool I wanted, I went with a more classical approach  because I thought it would be the best fit for us.  I purchased all of the books that I wanted to use and decided to use the Easy Peasey All in One Homeschool for Reading, Foreign Language, Bible, Writing, Art, Gym and Music.  For the rest of the subjects I chose Math Mammoth light blue series for 6th grade, Building Spelling Skills Book 6, Vocabulary From Classical Roots, Intermediate Language Lessons, Discovering the World of Geography, Notgrass History using America the Beautiful 2 (we studied the first part of US History last year), and Christian Kids Explore Biology.  I also chose these books for us to read that I am adding to the history assignments:  Silent Night by Tanley Weintraub, Franklin Delano Roosevelt by Russell Freedman, A Night to Remember by Walter Lord, and The Good Fight How WWII Was Won.

Now comes the fun part:  Planning.  The law states in Pennsylvania that children need to attend 180 days of school.  I have all of that marked out with the days and vacations that we will take throughout the year.  Most of my lessons are planned, I just have a few more things that I want to plan out.

I am really excited about this new journey that God has me on and I have never felt more satisfied than I do right in the middle of God’s will.  I will try to add some photos with my next post to give you more details of my daily planning.

 

